Update: D. & J. (China)

May 5, 2010

As of May 5 . . .

From D.: I just had to forward this email below I received today, sent from the US consulate visa officer in Guangzhou who interviewed brother L and brother M from Xiamen this morning.  Our prayers are answered each step of the way.  Pray for the remaining 5 brothers interviewing in Shanghai on May 13th:

  • Brother N has just been designated the new leader of the Wenzhou network. He is responsible for 300,000 believers impacting over 1 million Christian families across the world.
  • Brother O has been the head of an Anhui HC network for the last 13 years.  He is responsible for 50,000 evangelist in his network ministering all across China.
  • Brother P is the head of missions for an Anhui HC network.  In the last few years, they have commissioned 50-60 missionaries to South East Asia, Central Asia and South Asia. 
  • Brother Q established 7 house churches with 18 co-workers.  He is currently the senior pastor of the church.
  • Brother R is one of the ministers in the largest urban HC in Shanghai serving with Brother C.

The email D. received:

From: xxxxx
Sent: 2010年5月5日 17:19
To: G.
Subject: Re: A miracle in the Guangzhou visa line today
 
Hello:
 
I asked my good friend G. to connect me to you because I was so blessed this afternoon on the visa line.
 
My name is xxxxx, vice consul here at the U.S. Consulate in Guangzhou. I met G. in college and she knows how much Tim Keller’s sermon tapes influenced our walk with God during those tender years. After graduating, I moved to NYC and attended Redeemer from 2000-2002. That’s when I met my husband, xxxxx, who was leading a community group at the time and stayed at the church until 2004.
 
You can imagine my surprise when Mr. L and Mr. M walked up to my window this morning. Doing 2 minute visa interviews 90 times a day can be grinding. This morning was no different and I was trying to get the attention of the two pastors on the line because they were next in line. They didn’t hear me so I called them several times. There are seven of us on the line and they could have easily gone to any other window. But they came to mine and gave me an invite letter with a familiar logo. And photos from when Tim Keller was in China last year — I had known about the trip from G.
 
But it wasn’t just their affiliation with Redeemer that made them qualified for the visa. They had a genuineness about them that is sorely missed on the non-immigration visa line in southern China. I was fully convinced that they would not leave their family and their congregations behind to immigrate to the U.S. and approved their visas.
 
I was both humbled and blessed. God doesn’t have to use us. But he does so that we’d get a taste of how much He loves us and to affirm in our lives that we are exactly where He wants us to be.
 
In Christ
xxxxx
 
 
On Wed, May 5, 2010 at 5:05 PM, G. wrote:
Hi friends,
 
My good friend and college buddy (also a former Redeemerite) is now with the US State Dept working in the visa line at the Guangzhou consulate, and she told me that today she had 2 brothers come to her window who are going to NYC to be with you all soon, and she approved them!!  I’ll let her share with you the details of how it all went down and what a blessing it was, because they almost didn’t go to her window!
 
Our Dad is amazing!
 
Joy,
G.

Leave a Reply

