All You Single Ladies! (… And Men … And Married Folks.)

April 6, 2009

My short attention span and general lack of large chunks of free time often prevent me from tuning into all the mp3 links people send me.  But this one caught my attention for no reason other than that I finally had an hour free to just sit and listen to something.  I didn’t even know what the topic was, so I had no idea what to expect when I clicked to listen, and I certainly didn’t expect to be as blessed and encouraged as I was.

For the sake of full disclosure, the title of the talk is “We’re Not on Hold: Biblical Femininity For Single Women.”  Carolyn McCulley led this elective seminar at the 2004 Desiring God National Conference, “Sex and the Supremacy of Christ.”  Now, before all you single ladies get all up in a huff, please allow me to tell you straight-up: it’s a good talk.  It is not like any talk you’ve ever heard before about your singleness, or about the Biblical view of singleness.  If you have an hour of free time, I pray that you will also have open ears and a soft heart to check out this encouragement from a loving and eloquent woman of God.

I would also strongly encourage SINGLE MEN and MARRIED COUPLES to listen to this message as well.  Carolyn speaks to the single members of your extended community, your sisters in Christ.  She offers some practical and gentle admonishments and encouragements to you as well.  She speaks words that are often difficult for single women (and men) to say to their married friends and family members.  Please listen and hear her words.

(If you’re better with visual intake, I have transcribed the entirety of her talk so that you can read, rather than hear, it.  Please contact me at cathy.cha [at] nhf-online [dot] org for a copy.)

2 Responses to “All You Single Ladies! (… And Men … And Married Folks.)”

  1. DK Says:

    You transcribed it?! Wow!

  2. lovingsuffering Says:

    you transcribed what?? omg..


Leave a Reply

