Love = Mourning With Those Who Mourn

February 13, 2009

By now, you all must have heard about the crash of Continental Flight 3407 near Buffalo, killing 50 people.  Admittedly and tragically, there are bigger catastrophes occurring around the world all the time. For all of these, our hearts should break, and we should be constantly on our knees before God.

But for some reason, last night and through today, this local and relatively-small event has really weighed greatly on my heart. I feel a very acute sense of loss, a heavy sense of sadness, and a deeper urgency to ask God for clarity and for His sovereignty to lie strongly over the victims’ families & friends.

As we head into Valentine’s Day weekend, we are bombarded by hearts, flowers, candies, etc. — every possible depiction of human (commercialized) love.   Shoot, I picked up some flowers for my own mother today; yeah, I’ll buy into the hype!  But, I also remember sharply that love in any form is utterly meaningless without Christ.  Did He not teach His disciples, and all of us,

“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you.  Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love.   I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.  My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.  Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.  You are my friends if you do what I command.  I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business.   Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.  You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit — fruit that will last.  Then the Father will give you whatever you ask in my name.  This is my command: Love each other.” (John 15.9-17)

We can’t go to Buffalo to offer comfort to the grieving, but that doesn’t render us impotent.  Rather, would you please take a moment, or many moments, this weekend to kneel before the Lord in prayer, asking Him to cover Clarence Center, NY, with His great love, and all the compassion, strength, power and mercy that dwells therein?   As you turn to your spouses, significant others, beloved friends and family members with love this weekend, remember also the Greater Love that saved us, and the Powerful Love that can provide the deepest comfort and soothing to all those who mourn, in Buffalo and beyond.

Leave a Reply

