Can You ‘Name That Tune?’

November 10, 2008

Over the years, I’ve often heard folks comment along the lines of “What was that song we sang again?  I really loved it.” or “I want to get that song on my iTunes but I don’t remember the title.” or “I wish I could recall that lyric that really showed me that God loves me.” Never forget a song of worship unto the Lord again.  I will periodically post all the songs that we’ve sung together in Worship on Sundays.  May these be more than just compilations of lists.  I think I speak on behalf of the Worship Team when I express the hope and prayer that these lists will help and spur your own private worship and praise.  Enjoy!

I make Jenny Ko Ahn cringe at least once a month by completely butchering the lyrics of worship songs – even songs I really like and really feel God’s movement in (and therefore, songs I think I’m singing completely accurately!). It’s totally embarrassing, but it doesn’t stop me from singing my heart out unto the Lord.  I’m always so thankful that our Father inhabits the praises of His people (Psalm 22), and that week to week, we are able to gather to worship Him freely, as loudly, as exuberantly, as quietly, as intimately, as out-of-tune, as off-beat, as lovingly as we want.  Whenever we open our mouths to praise Him, He is pleased and ready to hear, and to pour out the blessing of His presence upon us.

Sunday, November 9

  • Everlasting God
  • At the Cross
  • How Great Thou Art
  • Let My Words Be Few
  • Center
  • Befriended

Sunday, November 2

  • Center / Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus
  • As We Seek Your Face
  • Enough
  • Hosanna (Paul Baloche version)
  • Trading My Sorrows
  • Saviour King

Sunday, October 26

  • How Can I Keep From Singing
  • I Cry Out (For You Are Good)
  • In Christ Alone (My Hope Is Found)
  • Where the Love Lasts Forever
  • God of Ages
  • ‘Til I See You

Sunday, October 19 (missing list)

Sunday, October 12

  • Jesus, Be The Center
  • Be Thou My Vision
  • Blessed Be Your Name
  • Everlasting God
  • I Stand Amazed
One Response to “Can You ‘Name That Tune?’”

  1. ouiseigneur Says:

    thanks, cathy! actually a nice idea for the praise team to get an idea of what songs we’re singing and how often over time.


Leave a Reply

